Customer Reviews and Testimonials

Ely Outfitting Company's Customer Reviews & Testimonials

A canoe trip in the Boundary Waters with Ely Outfitting Company can be an unforgettable experience! Don't just take our word for it. Read what our customers have to say about our top-notch Boundary Waters outfitting services and their memorable canoe trips in the BWCAW!

Google Reviews:

When a first timer goes canoeing for 3 days in the wilderness, there are many, many details I had not considered. EOC has thought of them all and has elegant solutions to all. Nice people, super organized, clean and new equipment, first class operation all the way around. Will definitely be back!
-Edward Nowak

They thought of every little detail and made our experience unforgettable. Super friendly and helpful crew. I am looking forward to going back.
-Rafael Pendón Hidalgo

We had a great experience with Ely Outfitting Company. Professional and helpful. We only rented canoes but they still gave us wonderful assistance with planning our trip.
-Eric Weiss

Jason and team were easy to work with, thorough, and so accommodating. Jason pointed out great campsites, prime fishing spots, and made sure we were fully prepared for our trip. Food was excellent and the full outfitting package made our trip a breeze.
-Emily Strong

We have used them on two occasions now and everything went very smoothly. They answered all our questions and made sure we had the best trip possible.
-Dave Jones

My friend and I used Ely Outfitting Co. for our first ever BWCA experience in July of 2018. Jason and his team were awesome! We didn't use their guided service (only rented the canoe from them) but they took the time with us to go over our route and suggested the best fishing and campsite locations along the way. Every question we had they were very attentive and seemed genuinely interested in helping us make this the best experience possible. I'll definitely use them again for another BWCA adventure!
-David Stonesifer

Great place to outfit your trip through. I just did canoe and paddles. They were helpful and loaded it on our car. They even gave us some fishing advice.
-Nate Ruth

This is the second time I've done partial outfitting with Ely Outfitting Company and they continue to impress with good service and they made it easy to change my reservation multiple times when I ended up having conflicts pop up. I'll continue to use them for my annual Boundary Waters trip outfitting needs.
-Paul Beazer

Very professional and friendly and welcoming to newbies!
-Sara Dovre Wudali

Excellent group of people that made our whole trip up to the bwca easy and fun. I highly recommend them.
-Terry Linzmeier

We used these guys 2 years in a row and they made it insanely easy for us beginners to have a perfect trip. I definitely recommend for everyone.
-Allissa Anderson

Jason and his team are so so accommodating and make you feel equipt to conquer the wild! Jason's dog, Abbey, is also the sweetest thing. (:
-Shelby Nelson

Jason, Hanna, Nick and team were top rate at giving us instructions and directions. We rented our canoes from them and they were very familiar with the places that we planned on going. This being our first trip to BWCA the info they shared with us made the trip successful. I would highly recommend them to anyone planning to go into the BWCA. Every point of interest we were given was spot on.
-Chad Winner 

My husband and I canoed the Boundary waters for 5 days in September 2017. Ely Outfitting Company was extremely helpful from the beginning. When I was researching outfitters they were the first to respond. They answered every question and always called me back right away. They even checked in on us as we got closer to our trip. They made suggestions and offered advice. They were patient with changes we made. They were excited for us. They listened. The gear we rented was above par. We stayed in the bunkhouse prior to and after our trip. The bunkhouse was comfortable and very convenient. Thank you Ely Outfitting Company!
-Mich D

Jason + staff are excellent! Reasonable rates for gear rental, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides, great shop dog! You'll have an awesome BWCAW trip if you rent or travel with these guys.
-Sonia Ellison

After doing 8 trips out of the Grand Marais side of the BWCA I was looking for a new experience and wanted to give the Ely side a try. After considering other outfitters I decided Ely Outfitting would be the outfitter of my choice. I made a great decision.

While tripping the BWCA was nothing new—my group of 4 only used them for canoes/paddles and a food pack—their thorough attention to detail and hospitality made things very smooth for us. Everyone was super friendly, and willing to share tips on fishing and the ins and outs of the route/lakes we'd be paddling.

We will be back to Ely, and we will be outfitted by Ely Outfitting Co. again. Hannah, Brad and Jason, thanks for the good experience.
-Anthony Lane

Though I have done trips to the Boundary Waters before, I hadn't used Ely Outfitting Company until this trip and was really glad I did. They were amazingly helpful in the planning of the trip, offering great options and really listening to what I was trying to accomplish on this trip. Their equipment was in great shape, newer, lightweight and exactly what they said it would be. Even their bunkhouse was clean, well appointed and comfortable. I will use them again for sure.
-John Haesler

Ely Outfitting Company provided a great service for our family camping trip. The equipment was clean and in great condition and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The only issue we had was with the length of the portage and having to carry all of our equipment and canoes for over two miles, since we had to make multiple trips. Definitely recommend bringing boots and water shoes for swapping out between canoeing and hiking during the portage.
-Elias Martinez

Thank you to Jason and staff! You guys never disappoint and are super knowledgeable on all things BWCA!
-Jean Allen-Murphy

Helpful service, great outfitter for beginners.
-Keifer Gross

Outstanding 5 day fly in - paddle out adventure! From beginning to end - excellent attention to detail, conscientious and safety conscious guide. Informative and educational journey. Mom & Dad in one canoe with guide paddling with our 12 year old son in the other. Gear was either new or like new. Campfire food delicious. Couldn't get any better!
-Robert Wilbanks

I ordered and paid for the canoes for our trip online, which was quick and easy to do. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and they helped us right away. We were in and out within the course of an hour. The guy helping us even stayed past closing time for us. If you're looking for a canoe rental company that won't make you deal with any shenanigans then this is the place. Just grab the equipment and head out. If you're inexperienced, they'll walk you through everything, too. I will be looking here first for my next BWCA trip.
-Nick Beno

Ely Outfitting Company was the perfect choice for our 4 day, 3 night, 9 person trip. We had a blast. They were so attentive and answered every question - big or small - all the way up to our departure and did everything the could to ensure a successful family adventure in the Boundary Waters. They thought of everything - were our one stop shop for our permits, gear and food, and it made our lives so much easier than if we were to have attempted to outfit our trip on our own. The food was delicious (they let you pick your menus online!), the gear was in great shape and clean, and everyone we crossed paths with was kind, knowledgeable, and helpful.

They have a bunkhouse right next to the shop that is $25/night/person and it was adorable. Very fun and much easier than if we had stayed in a hotel somewhere close.

Jason, the owner, came to meet with us after the shop had already closed to chat through routes with us and make sure we had all of our questions answered prior to our departure. This was so helpful. He even gave us some expert tips and highlighted his favorite campsite for us.

At the end of our trip, some of our family members who had never camped before wanted to stay for a few more days. I have no doubt this is a direct result of having everything we needed. Ely Outfitting Company made it so so easy. We will absolutely be doing through them again!
-Jacqueline Hilmes

I love Ely Outfitting Company! The bunk houses are clean and great for staying the night before you put into BWCA. The staff is always super helpful and genuinely nice... They make you feel comfortable and welcome. They're dog friendly, too, which is a must. Thanks EOC!
-Veronica Mae

High quality equipment. Top shelf people. Reasonable prices. Highly recommend.
-David Handley

Jason and his team did a wonderful job outfitting our 5-day 4-night trip into the spectacular BWCA wilderness. Couldn't recommend this outfitter enough: they were friendly, helpful, organized and responsive via email/phone to answer all our questions and tailor a trip to our interests.
-Elena Sorokin

I have used many of the other outfitters in town and have had good experiences with many others, but I have to say that Ely Outfitting Company has been the best.

Jason and the rest of the staff have went out of there way to make sure my trip went great. They were super easy to work with and communication was amazing.

Even up to the little post it note that was left for us their level of detail and also there products that they carry are the best!

Thanks again and you will be seeing more of us in the future!
-Vance Trendov

Professional in every way: from the help with route planning on the website, to map marking for the best camp sites and places to slay fish, to the demeanor of the guides, they are AWESOME.

Punctual on our pick up time and they were quite willing to help us with that final portage to the parking lot. Highly recommended! listen to Jason (the owner) talk about the threats facing the BWCA on the Dirtbag Diaries Podcast. #savethebwca
-Crisler Torrence

To add to the many positive reviews, Ely Outfitting Company is a bunch of super friendly, competent people and I would love to rent from them again. Very reasonable prices. Convinced us to go with one 3-person canoe instead of a tandem and solo, despite less profit for them. Gave great advice on a route. Took the time to answer all our questions. When we came back, took the time to ask about our trip and had us show them our route. These people really care about the Boundary Waters and about making sure their customers have a good experience there. Highly, highly recommended
-Gabriel Popkin

Ely Outfitting Company helped my friends and I prepare for our trip both through relevant educational materials and comprehensive equipment. Even though we arrived with very little camping experience, the folks at Ely Outfitting Company shared information with us respectfully and in a way that we felt ready to go out on the water and into the woods. I highly recommend Ely Outfitting Company to anyone looking for any level of equipment, mapping, and/or education in camping.
-Terese Hagerty

My wife and I went on our first Boundary Waters trip together this past May, and we rented our Canoe from Ely Outing Company. They were amazing!! Jason totally put my wife, who was a little nervous, at ease. They explained what we could expect on our route, and even told us which campsites had the best views. Their shuttle service was prompt, and they helped us load and unload everything. Everyone there seems to love their job, and truly wants to provide you with the best Boundary Waters experience possible. We will for sure go through them every time we go!!
-Clint Considine

Very friendly and knowledgeable pros. Already looking to head back.
-Jeff Strammen

Great service! Jason and his staff are all very helpful and enjoy their jobs. His fishing suggestions prior to heading out were key, as we ended up catching a couple 34"+ northern and a 22" smallie on a 3 day trip. The weather could have been better, but everything else was great. Their shuttle service was a on time and the bunk house was nice. We drove in from Chicago so we stayed overnight the first day before heading out to our entry point. The bunk house was perfect for our group of 6, plus it had a little fridge for snacks and beverages.

Highly recommended this outfitter!
-John Zygmunt

Have used these guys two summers in a row and they are great! Always really nice, accommodating and reasonably priced. We plan to use them every year!
-Andrew Brindley

Jason and team were great! They had everything ready for us, very responsive and helped us get the trip/route planned on what we wanted to see and do.
Can't wait to visit them again, highly recommend them to anyone.
-Reet S

Great group to work with! We stayed in the bunkhouse the night before we went out on our last trip, and it was clean and pleasant. I have outfitted with Ely Outfitting more than 5 times and have had a great experience very time.
-Roger Andre

Had a great time in the BWCAW summer 2016. Ely Outfitting Co was very knowledgeable and helpful. They offered advice and had resources to make our two week paddle a great lifetime memory. Next time, we'll be return customers.
-Todd Crabtree

Great experience. Jason and crew took care of all that was requested. From getting permits to the pick up. All went smoothly. My recommendation: reserve the bunkhouse for the night before and the night you come out. A great deal and comfortable.
-Daniel Goldberg

Our group of 4 made all our arrangements for a June 2015 BWCA trip through Ely Outfitting Co. Starting with the initial phone call through follow up calls, route recommendations, gear rentals, shuttle arrangements and wrap up, Jason and the team were outstanding. We stayed in the new bunk room and it fit our needs well. We even got great recommendations for local bait shops and restaurants. We can not recommend them highly enough.
-Bob Laundon

Jason and his staff are absolutely wonderful to work with. From the first phone call to the completed trip all went as expected and was absolutely terrific. Jason has extensive knowledge of the entire BWCAW and is able to use this knowledge when discussing trip options, making sure that the trip you plan is the trip that you get. He is personable, knowledgeable, easy to work with, and provides a marvelous service to all of his clients.
-Sherry Okeefe

Jason and his staff did an outstanding job for our church youth group. He outfitted the 9 of us for a week in the boundary waters. He was able to make it very affordable for our limited budget. He gave us insightful information on areas of good fishing, great campsights and unique places to visit on our route. I've been going up to the boundary waters for over 30 years and his outfit was by far one of the best I have ever worked with.
-Robin Dickman

The great thing about the folks at Ely Outfitting is that they're not only competent and helpful but they're so friendly while they're at it that they make you feel like old friends. If I ever make it back to the BWCA, I will absolutely use their services again and would recommend them in a heartbeat. You won't go wrong with them.
-Jesse Kovac

Jason and his crew did a wonderful job prepping us and outfitting us for a four day trip in the BWCA. We were four women meeting in the middle (between CO and the northeast) and he was patient with our late flight arrival time, even suggesting places to pick up pizza and beer to have while he did the orientation! Before the trip, he must have patiently answered at least 10 questions from each of us on the phone.

The gear we got was excellent, very clean and new and perfect for what we needed. (It was also a wonderful experience to get back from a camping trip and hand someone your used gear and not have to deal with it -- whoa!) The price felt VERY reasonable (even a bargain!) for four days of gear and food.

Jason's orientation was the perfect amount of information - he is extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave us exactly the right amount of guidance.

On our last day, we arrived at the pickup point several hours earlier than expected and were able to get a text to Jason, who sent someone to get us right away (with a six-pack of root beer!). We were able to shower at the outfitter and then head back to Duluth before our flights the next day.

Overall, all four of us would highly recommend the Ely Outfitting Company and cannot wait to head back sometime soon!
-Liza Cohen

Jason is great to work with. Helped us plan our route, answered all of the questions we had and allowed us to have a great first trip into the Boundary Waters. He runs a great shop, definitely will go back!
-Jon Pohlkamp

This year was our second time with Jason and Ely Outfitting Co. Each year it is the highlight of our summer. With 5 kids, we are quite the handful, but everyone at Ely Outfitting Co takes care of us and we couldn't imagine our trips without them. This is our perfect summer getaway from NYC we can't wait for this summer, thank you!
-Taylor Yess

My wife and I completed our 5th annual trip this year, (our 3rd solo). We have used Ely Outfitting for all of our journeys into the BWCAW. The service, equipment, and knowledge provided by Jason and the gang is excellent. I recommend Ely Outfitting for any travels into the BWCAW.
-Joel Hanson

I took part in Ely Outfitting Company's Women in the Wilderness Boundary Waters Canoe Trip in September 2016, led by Kate Ford, and it was one of the most memorable experiences of my life. The Boundary Waters Canoe Area is a national treasure, but it can be a challenge to navigate if you're not an experienced paddler/hiker/camper. Kate not only made the long weekend an adventure to remember, but she helped people in our group--many of whom had never canoed before--discover abilities (like steering and portaging canoes) they'd never known they had. I would recommend this trip, the company, and our guide to anyone wanting to experience the Boundary Waters for themselves, especially anyone who doesn't feel they have the necessary skills to go. You might just surprise yourself!
-Sarah Brandel

Jason and the team at Ely Outfitting Company helped us prepare for an amazing trip to the BWCA! It was the first trip for my wife and 6 year old son and Jason went the extra mile to help choose a route that would provide a great experience for us all. We also stayed at the bunk house the night before our BWCA entry and it was a convenient, cost-effective, and comfortable option. We look forward to working with the Ely Outfitting Co. team again soon!
-Brett Sween

What can I say? It's the BWCA. It is one of the best places on earth and there is no better outfitter to head out from. Ely Outfitting has outstanding service and route suggestions. Give them a call for more info on the beautiful BWCA.
-Jim Reidy

We had a great experience with Ely Outfitting...Jason took great care of us! I took my newbie family of six out into the BWCA and we had everything we needed for our five day trip. Jason took time months before our trip to get the permits needed, help me with packing and assisting me in finding great places to stay before and after our canoe trip. When we got to town, the guys trained us on all our equipment, packed a weeks worth of great food and made sure we had everything needed for our wilderness trek. The equipment was clean and everything was in great working order. The canoes were top notch, kevelar is the way to go! I would highly recommend Ely Outfitting Company...they are the complete package!
-Christine Bierma

Our crew worked with Jason to plan our trip from Kawishiwi Lake to Snowbank Lake this summer (2012). Jason walked us through every step of the way from helping us choose a route that fit our skills and desires, to reviewing our maps and gear, getting our permit, reviewing our trip itinerary and suggestions, and sharing his experiences. We rented the kevlar canoes from Jason and loved them!! They were very well maintained, comfortable to sit in, and oh so nice for portaging.

When we returned, Jason was there excitedly waiting to hear about our travels and to offer that amazing shower!

We will definitely be back to get rent our gear from Jason for future trips. He truly cares about the BWCAW and the crews he helps to experience this wonderful area!
-Terry Swanson

Staff was interested in us enjoying the trip as much as we were safe and that we knew the rules. They covered a lot of ground during instructions about cooking and equipment.
-Ryan Small

If you are looking for a trip to BWCA go with these guys. I have been on several trips and Jason and the gang is it really. I visited other outfitters when in Ely just to see what they sell (it's a tourist town) and they are worth visiting, but the personal service is not there. At one place a customer came in about a trip he was taking and a college age girl did not know him or could help him at all, told him to come back tomorrow when so and so was in. With Jason he knew just who I was when I called him for a new trip, the last time I talked to him was 4 years prior. They also do a lot of out reach for the BWCA and are very connected to the local region. The food they provide is all locally made in Minnesota and Wisconsin. You are going to spend good money for a trip into the BWCA no matter who you choose to go with. With these guys you chose to go with a friend and all the money will go into the local economy and advocates for the BWCA. look no further!!
-Dan and Jules Pollard

Trip Advisor:

Very professional and welcoming
Very professional and friendly and welcoming to newbies! They will help you map out route options, plan all your food and gear, and give you advice geared on your trip goals.
-874mahadevd

Awesome
Visiting BWCA was a lifelong dream come true. We spent 5 days in God's country in late August and early September. We had a wonderful guide, Shaun. He was an excellent cook and companion.
-Cheryl S

Very helpful and welcoming
The folks at Ely Outfitting are super helpful and welcoming. We stayed at their bunkhouse the night before our trip. It was clean, spacious and very affordable! The crew was super nice and really wanted to hear about our trip afterwards.
-Nick C

Best BWCA experience!
We had a fantastic BWCA trip thanks to Ely Outfitting. It was our first trip with young children and we decided to do full outfitting - the whole process was seamless, quick and fun. Highly recommend this company!!!
-Alateone

Professional and friendly establishment
My friend and I outfitted with Ely Outfitting for a 6 day canoe trip. Everything went smoothly. We stayed in their bunkhouse. It was clean and comfortable. They thoroughly prepared us for our trip. They had numerous menu options to choose from. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We were fully outfitted. The gear was all in excellent condition. They helped us plan a route and marked the best fishing spots (accurately I might add). I wouldn’t hesitate to return.
-losaventurasdemike

Ely Outfitting Company made our first trip to the boundary waters fantastic.
This was our first time to the boundary waters and using Ely Outfitters made it easy. All the gear was great and they helped us plan our trip based on our capabilities. We are from Dallas and have been camping a few times so we were looking for information on what to expect while we were there. We were happy with the help we got from the team. I have a special diet and I worked with Kristen and Heather to get what I needed. They went so far out of the way to make sure I had food that fit my needs I was so happy with the level of care they put into our planning.

When we come back we will always use Ely Outfitting Company.
-Doug S

We have been EOC several years and switched to them from another outfitter due to gear problems which almost ruined a trip. EOC is by far the best outfitter I have used and their attention to detail gives me confidence that the trip will be smooth. I highly recommend them for a BWCA trip.
-Jeff W

Best experience possible. Will be a repeat customer.
We had the best possible experience booking a guided trip through Ely Outfitting Company this summer. We will be repeat customers whenever our travels take us back to the BWCA in the future.

First, we were a group of 8 (4 adult parents, 4 daughters aged 10,11,13,13) and we booked a 9-day guided trip. Our guide Eliza was fantastic: Knowledgeable, encouraging, friendly, professional and tireless. Jason and the team at the shop were very easy to work with in setting up our trip. I have zero suggestions to improve the experience. It was a much better trip than we’d even dared to hope for. They have the entire experience down to a well-oiled machine.

On-trail, our daughters gained confidence and felt empowered to do more than they ever realized they could. We adults all felt like we were in good hands and therefore more willing (and excited) to go further into the BWCA than we would have on our own. Our guide Eliza gets the credit for that, and if you have a chance to join her on a trip, our entire group agrees you should. She was perfect with our daughters and the adults, and she was the real key to our fantastic adventure, ensuring we had options, plans, meals, and everything else we needed (including where to fish). Guiding is clearly hard work, and she handled it with aplomb.

Finally, the BWCA itself is a treasure worth protecting, experiencing and evangelizing. We have travelled coast to coast and it ranks up there with anywhere else we have ever been. I hope to be back, that’s for sure. There’s so much more to see!

If you’re considering a trip, go for it. You’ll be glad you did.
-Suydam

First time using an outfitter -- I'll be back!
I've been to the Boundary Waters before several times, but this was my first time using an outfitter. We rented our canoes, paddles, and life jackets, and stayed one night in the bunkhouse before putting in. I have to say, I'm a convert. While I CAN do all these things myself, it was great to talk to Jason before our trip and get his recommendations on route and campsites. The equipment was well-maintained, and the 3 seat canoe was perfect for us! The bunkhouse was clean, comfortable, and they even accommodated our late-night arrival. It was also really fun to have someone to debrief with after the trip -- someone who was obviously excited to hear how our trip went, wanted to know where we went and what we did. When I'm back with friends or family, this will definitely be the outfitter I'll use. You'll see us again.
-Erin B

An excellent adventure
We recently used Ely Outfitting Company to rent canoes, help plan our route, shuttle to pick up and drop off, and we used their bunk house for two nights. Jason and his team did a great job making sure we had everything we needed to have a good trip. We were pointed to some different spots that were not on our original route and ended up finding an awesome campsite where we had excellent fishing for walleye, pike, and smallmouth. It would be nice if the bunkhouse had more than one shower, but you can use the showers in the main building if needed.
-Vinvent C

Heaven on earth
This is just about the most beautiful place you can imagine and the only way to see it is to head in with canoes. But you don’t want to do it on your own. Hook up with these guys for a spectacular get away. Jason and his crew do a fabulous job with the best equipment and stellar service. Everything was perfect from start to finish.
-N9041DOjohng

Look No Further. This is Your Outfitter.
My wife and I were both so appreciative of Jason’s hands-on service. The website gave us a great route planning questionnaire, and we were quickly provided a list of the best routes to meet our interests and skill level (solitude, wolves, portages ok.) The staff patiently answered our many pre-trip emails, and the whole gear pickup was seamless, friendly, and fun. We stayed at the bunkhouse before and after our trip, and it proved a great jumping off point for our Boundary Waters adventure. I can’t recommend these folks highly enough!
-andrea G

Ely Outfitting is GREAT
We rented gear and used a shuttle provided by Ely Outfitting. In the time leading up to the trip I called or emailed and everyone I talked to was very friendly and informative. Once we got there, it was more of the same. We met about 5 team members during our check-in, shuttle, and check-out and everyone of them were knowledgeable and friendly. Everything at the outpost was clean and organized. The systems they have to keep all staff informed of group/individual needs is working well. Thanks to Jason and the crew for great camp recommendations, great fishing recommendations and great local food recommendations. We will use Ely Outfitting Company when we return to BWCA.
-Mark_Shib

Our 13 year old daughters said, "Best Trip Ever!"
Our 13 year old daughters said, "Best Trip Ever!" Which was a little surprising considering we have visited Belize, Costa Rico, The Galapagos Islands and Asia learning about other ecosystems. So, who would have guest the BWCA would be #1. This couldn't have been #1 without the guidance and help of Ely Outfitting Co (EOC). This was our first time to the BWCA and EOC made it easy from the time we stated to plan. The interactive web process around the trip, the experiences of our group and how we accommodate the best trip for all. EOC's professionalism and friendly approach really set the stage for the trip. The gear was like we pulled it out of our storage shed -clean and new. EOC, looking forward to seeing you next year as the girls already want to go for a longer trip...maybe mocking and no tents - ok, no bears please!
-Chris L

BWCA trip
Ely outfitting company is the best outfitter we have used for our self guided BWCA trips. They are organized, all online, and very centered on making sure you are prepared for a great trip. Their gear is in great condition and they use checklist to make sure you have what you need. Highly recommend them for any type of BWCA Trip.
-Jeff W

Spring fishing trip
Great trip....EOC made it easy and were very flexible with our needs. Great help with planning our itinerary. Will be back!
-Scott F

If you need an outfitters, these guys will treat you like family
We took a group of scouts ages 12-16 on a near 50-mile trip and these guys supplied us with everything we needed. The gear was top of the line and we had enough food for a couple more folks. Go with these guys if you want a great experience. I also recommend using their bunk houses which are located right next door to their main place.
-Travelinman01232015

Good Trip
A buddy and myself hired the Ely Outfitting Company to rent us canoes for a fishing trip into Canada. The staff was professional and helpful. The boat tow company that was subcontracted out was on time. When we returned after a week of great fishing. We stayed one night in their bunk house. The bunk house was simple but very clean and accommodating. Great trip!! I would recommend the Ely Outfitting Company to anyone who is looking for a great boundary water experience.
-Agr1021

Good Outfitter
Great people, quality equipment, clean accommodations, solid route information and map corrections. Good quick communications via email in the planning for this trip. This outfitter did a great job for our family of 6. The Boundary Waters blew us away, great wilderness trip.
-Steve Y

"Excellent canoe trip"
Ely Outfitting Company made our trip so easy to plan! All we had to do was show up and paddle away! We have actually purchased some of the same equipment to use for camping when we returned. Ron, Bob, and the people answering the phone to assist with initial arrangements were fantastic. See you next year!
-WMS1524

Look no further...
I did a lot of research into the various outfitting companies. This was our trip to the BWCA and I wanted to make sure that we went with someone who could give us the right equipment, and more importantly the right advice. These guys were thorough, experienced and meticulous. We went with the 'complete outfitter package'. More than enough food for us, and we were certainly not lacking in terms of equipment. We arrived in Ely the day before our canoe trip. We stayed in the bunkhouse the night before our trip. Basic, but perfect for what we needed. Jason recommended some great local restaurants, and Ely is a pretty cool little town to visit. Arriving in Ely the night before the trip was certainly something I would recommend. You can get all your gear, get your briefing, and enjoy a good meal and a couple of beers before heading out bright and early the next morning. The super affordable bunkhouse makes this an option even for people who are budget conscious. In all we spent four days canoeing. Wish we could have spent at least another two nights. We are looking at doing this again next year and we will certainly be using the Ely Outfitting Company again.
-Rob Patrickza

Amazing fall trip
We recently spent 9 days in Quetico Park. Jason and the crew were amazingly helpful at answering questions and helping to organize the trip. We have a lot of our own backcountry stuff and we appreciated that they were willing to mix and match some of the different rental options. We ended up doing the food package which on the whole was pretty tasty but by no means gourmet. Would send family and friends here without a second thought.
-Duncan W

We were in great hands!
Ely Outfitting Company proved to be an incredible group to work with for our first trip to the Boundary Waters! They made sure we had all the gear and information we needed to have a smooth and wonderful experience. The equipment we used was in great condition and the tutorials given before we set off were thorough. Not to mention, everyone was incredibly nice and fun to be around!
-ariehm9191

Smooth paddling at the Boundary Waters
My partner and I went for a 5 day paddle on the Boundary Waters. Ely Outfitting did a great job of showing us how to do the portages, the points where we had to take care which ways we were going etc. etc. It definitely made for a great trip. I'd happily recommend.
-PatrickDaveyNZ

Great People, Great Company, Great Trip!
Ely Outfitting Company was the perfect choice for our 4 day, 3 night, 9 person trip. We had a blast. They were so attentive and answered every question - big or small - all the way up to our departure and did everything the could to ensure a successful family adventure in the Boundary Waters. They thought of everything - were our one stop shop for our permits, gear and food, and it made our lives so much easier than if we were to have attempted to outfit our trip on our own. The food was delicious (they let you pick your menus online!), the gear was in great shape and clean, and everyone we crossed paths with was kind, knowledgeable, and helpful.

They have a bunkhouse right next to the shop that is $25/night/person and it was adorable. Very fun and much easier than if we had stayed in a hotel somewhere close.

Jason, the owner, came to meet with us after the shop had already closed to chat through routes with us and make sure we had all of our questions answered prior to our departure. This was so helpful. He even gave us some expert tips and highlighted his favorite campsite for us.

At the end of our trip, some of our family members who had never camped before wanted to stay for a few more days. I have no doubt this is a direct result of having everything we needed. Ely Outfitting Company made it so so easy. We will absolutely be doing through them again!
-jackiehilmes

40 miles in the BWCA Extatic
In early August I arrived at Ely Minnesota at the office of Ely Outfitters. I was to begin my third trip to the boundary Waters Canoe area and had chosen as my point of contact!. I had been in contact with Jason the owner manager over the last several months as we work through the details of my proposed itinerary. Jason did an excellent job of putting together a workable plan for the trip which turned out to be a 40 mile, 19 portage, six days on the water event. My experience was magnificent. The equipment provided by Jason was superior, a very high quality, and completely attuned to a boundary water experience. We chose the menu from their suggestions and ate heartily Throughout the trip. We chose a Kevlar canoe versus the aluminum canoe that I used 40 years ago given the fact that the weight difference was 40 pounds. A very wise choice. The party opted to stay at the bunkhouse and were delighted with the price, the cleanliness, and the overall presentation of the amenities. In finish and let me wholeheartedly endorse the full experience provided by Jason and Ely outfitters. In the future I will look through them again. However, be advised that 19 canoe portages is really 57!. Jason remarked that it age 76 I might have been the oldest voyageur on the water that year!
-YawarMailku

Two perfect day trips
I contacted them fairly last minute and wanted to try and arrange a boundary waters trip for 2-3 days as I passed through on a solo road trip. Jason promptly got back to me and I was able to speak with one of his employees who managed to arrange something last minute. Given my needs and experience, we agreed on two day trips with two different guides. Both guides were excellent and I got to see two different lakes and we portaged one day. The guides tailored the day to my requests and we lucked out with great weather and fairly quiet lakes. I would definitely recommend Ely Outfitting Company to others and hope to use them again in the future. The Boundary Waters need more than two days and I look forward to planning a longer return trip :).
-736Lenac

Extremely knowledgeable outfitter
Jason at Ely Outfitting Company did an awesome job. He was very easy to work with. While we were planning our trip, he gave a lot of super recommendations on multiple trips so that we could find the one best suited to our group. On the day that we picked up the gear, Jason went through our route and pointed out the best campsites and other sites to see.
-65Chrisk65

Great service, easy trip!
A friend and I (mid twenties women with significant backcountry experience) spent a week in BWCA this July. Jason presented us with several great route options based on our experience level and what we wanted to experience. The route advice was perfect for our trip. We also did all our outfitting through through Ely Outfitting Company. We had much of our own gear, but rented canoes and paddling gear as well as bought their camp cooking menu. Their outfitting and food made it very easy for us to get right on the water! We definitely recommend Ely Outfitting Company after working with them to organize our trip.
-Katelyn W

Adventurous Family Trip
Jason and staff were extremely helpful in giving our family of 2 adults and 2 teens guidance in planning our BWCAW trip for August 2015. They provided us with several route options based on what we wanted. They were always patient and available to answer questions, time and again, and offered useful advice. Everyone we encountered was very friendly. The only equipment we rented was canoes, paddles, and life jackets so can't comment on other rental gear or food. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ely Outfitting.
-CBL1027

Woman of the wilderness
My second year participating in the woman of the wilderness trip. Had a blast. Our guide ( Kate ) was very knowledgeable of area and camping skills of the Bwca. She was personable and took time to individually work with us on our own camping skills. Thank you Jason for the extra chocolate.
-Tlwhipps

Brilliant outfitters
We spent two nights and three days in BWCA. We turned to EOC to outfit us because they were so professional, friendly and super accommodating. We contacted them from overseas and they were extremely helpful in helping us plan our trip. When we arrived to pick up our gear, they explained everything (we're not expert canoe enthusiasts and this was our first long trip on a canoe!), walked us through our itinerary on the map and were really good guys. We also used their shower when we returned and it was good and clean. Highly recommend them.
-Emiana

Father Son Get-Away
We had a fantastic time visiting the BWCAW this past week. Ely Outfitting did a superb job in answering our questions, providing quality equipment, and transportation to our entry point. This was my third trip to the BWCAW and the first time for my teenage son and the trip exceeded all of our expectations. It was reassuring to have Jason plan and recommend our route and then confirm that we were not attempting too much. Prior to our trip we stayed in the Ely Outfitting bunk-house which was recently remodeled, conveniently located, and provided a clean quite night sleep prior to our departure. We will and would recommend both the bunk-house and Ely Outfitting for all your needs.
-Sunshine24seven

Amazing Trip
My son and I had a great time in the boundary waters. Jason was extremely thorough - everything was so well planned. Friendly service, knowledgeable, good quality gear. We had so much fun, we are hoping to go again in 2015.
-Arnie P

My friends and I had decided to do a BWCA trip in early May 2014. We had absolutely no plans and just showed up in Ely. We found Ely outfitting Company by driving through town. Jason and his crew were extremely accommodating and helped us pick out an area where there would be good fishing and camping. His pricing for the canoes, paddles, and life vests were good. When we returned from our trip there was hot coffee and clean showers available which was a definite plus.

What stands out the most to me is how friendly and helpful Jason was. He knows the area well and took the time to go over everything with us. I cannot recommend his outfitter enough and plan on going through him this coming spring.
-Ian N

Great time- highly recommended service
Jason and his team did a great job of providing outfitting and planning services for our trip. In fact, we enjoyed the trip so much we returned two years later as return customers.

Jason knows the area extremely well and can plan a trip for you that will meet your needs and preferences. Friendly service and quality gear can be expected at reasonable prices.
-Eric R

July Boundary Waters Trip with Family
I wanted my family (husband & boys 10, 13, 15) plus father (67) to experience the boundary waters (BWCAW) as I had 10+ years earlier but knew I couldn't do it on my own…thank goodness for Ely Outfitting Company! All of our gear and details about our trip were planned and organized by Jason flawlessly. We also used his guide service for our 5 day 4 night trip and couldn't have been happier with our guide Jarrett. Ely Outfitting Company's gear is top notch and in excellent condition, the food packed for us was yummy and plentiful, and all of his staff including our fantastic guide were extremely knowledgeable on all aspects of the BWCAW and our trip! I will use Ely Outfitting again and highly recommend these services!
-Whitney O

Best Outfitter in Town!
Jason and his crew are fabulous! They are knowledgeable of the area, the lakes, the trails, etc.

Jason gave us great advice where to paddle on a day trip! We just enjoyed hanging out and talking about the area with him, getting to know him and his other guides. Molly is also awesome! My family and I would highly recommend them and will use them again when we return to the area! My son even had to go back for a tshirt from them before we left town -he wears it every week!
-231 Jennifer H

Yelp! Reviews:

Ely Outfitting Company provided great equipment and stellar service. They had everything we needed, including obscure fishing gear and bug spray that specifically targets the biting flies in the BWCA. They had great advice, deep knowledge of the area, and were just friendly and helpful in every way possible. I highly recommend this business.
-Ted T (5)

This is just about the most beautiful place you can imagine and the only way to see it is to head in with canoes. But you don't want to do it on your own. Hook up with these guys for a spectacular get away. Jason and his crew do a fabulous job with the best equipment and stellar service. Everything was perfect from start to finish.
-John G (5)

We LOVE Jason and Ely Outfitting Company. We come into town from New York City - everything is packed and ready to go, which is such a relief. Our guides have always been fantastic, safe, knowledgeable and fun. Though a special shout out to our guide Bob -- if you get him, you've won Boundary Waters lotto.
Glen P

Jason and team were great! They had everything ready for us, very responsive and helped us get the trip/route planned on what we wanted to see and do.

Can't wait to visit them again, highly recommend them to anyone.
-ManreetS

They're great! I booked my permit and made my equipment reservation about 6 months in advance. They offered a wide range of "favorite guide routes" that they recommend which was critical since I had never been there before and was trying to plan this trip from afar.

What more can one say? They enthusiastically answered all of my questions, gave great advice, and got us on the water at the time we asked for. They gave us a run-down of things to keep in mind for the area and sights to check out.

A huge storm rolled in the weekend before so it was great to have some "boots on the ground" to tell us whether or not we'd be able to make it to the entrance that we had booked.

Everything was smooth sailing so they get 5 stars in my book!
-Lulu A

First time we used Ely for a complete outfit and was very glad I did. Equipment was newer, lightweight, efficient and exactly what we needed. In 5 days time I never thought to myself, "I wish I had...." because we had everything we needed and nothing more which was appreciated at the portages. Orientation was thorough and helpful. I will use them again for sure.
-John H

Jason and his crew are great. They were efficient, well organized and super friendly. He outfitted us very well, and set us up with an amazing guide, Steve, who helped us navigate the waters, portages and cooked great food - including a fish dinner that he helped us catch. We went with our 12 year old son and 15 year old daughter, who had never been back country camping, and (except for a few complaints about the mosquitos and biting flies) had a fabulous time. A word of advice: FOLLOW THE PACKING LIST. Jason includes a checklist of what to bring and we had EXACTLY what we needed for the trip. If you want peace and solitude with your family to bond, this is the trip.
-Irene S

Amazing experience! Jason and his staff were super helpful getting us prepped for the trip and gave us great tips on which camp spots to go to and how to plan our route for the amount of time we had available.
We had an amazing time in the wilderness!
-Tomasz M

I was part of a 4-man self-guided trip this summer. We started our search for Ely-based outfitters and while several were polite and responsive to our inquiries, no one matched Jason and his team at Ely Outfitting Company.

What impressed me most about their service is how fast they tailored a trip to our criteria. I must have sent a dozen nuances such as dates, gear rental needs, fitness levels, distances, etc and Jason provided 3 great options within the day.

His team was incredibly accommodating over the next few months as our group size changed and we debated internally about which route to take.

Ely Outfitting Company took care of all our permitting and their electronic invoicing was a breeze.

We couldn't believe how nice and new their bunkhouse was when we arrived late into Ely from Chicago. Would have definitely stayed another night if our schedule allowed, but we wanted to get out on the water and then back to our families like we promised.

Between help securing the necessary maps and a briefing session before we put in, Ely Outfitting Company allowed my crew to feel that we were learning and making our own adventure while remaining safe.

Ely was professional, friendly, and in every way exactly what my novice self-guiding team wanted in an outfitter.
-Matt B

The team at Ely Outfitting Company & Boundary Waters Guide Service is fantastic! I used them to set up a honeymoon trip in the BWCAW for my brother and his new wife as a wedding gift and they took care of everything! From getting the proper permits, suggesting the perfect route for a couple of novices, organizing all the food and camping equipment, and even suggesting a nearby B&B for them to stay at the night before the trip (and then working it out so that they could canoe into the Boundary Waters directly from the B&B).

Despite some challenging weather, my brother and sister-in-law had a great first trip into the BWCAW (so much so that they're going back for a second trip this summer!) and I'm certain it had everything to do with the care taken by Jason and his team at Ely Outfitting.
-Nikki A

We had a wonderful trip to the boundary waters this September thanks to Ely Outfitting Company! Jason helped us plan our trip before we arrived in Ely, but the most help came once we got there. He went over our route in detail, showed us how to portage the canoe, printed our permit, and made sure that we were completely prepared before going in. We rented our canoe and had our food packed for us. The food we were given was delicious and very well organized. The map that they marked out for us was gold - there were changes in the portages that they noted for us, nice campsites were starred, and we were told where to look out for poison ivy. The time Jason took to prepare us and the quality of equipment we rented made our first trip the boundary waters stress-free. We hope to go back again soon and recommend Ely Outfitting Company without hesitation!
-Rachael S

We met Jason when he was our guide on a dogsledding trip with Wintergreen. He was such a great guide we decided to go back to Ely to visit the BWCA and let his company Ely Outfitting Co. take care of all the details for us. Our family headed up the summer of 2011 and spent several days in the BWCA canoeing, exploring, and relaxing. Our guide Ellen was awesome, the food was great, the environment couldn't have been more perfect. The all around experience was one of the best we've ever had (dogsledding with Jason was the other). We look forward to going back this summer for another guided trip with Ely Outfitting.
-Michelle V

Facebook Reviews:

My husband and I traveled from Oregon to visit the Boundary Waters. We picked Ely Outfitting because they had great reviews online. The staff was super helpful and friendly when answering questions as we were planning our trip. We booked the complete package and really enjoyed the food selection and quality gear we were provided. We were very impressed with the experience from start to finish and would highly recommend them!
-Abby DenUyl

This company is amazing! Their rental gear is perfect, clean, and in great condition! They are friendly, make sure that you have everything you need and know everything you need to know before sending you into the wilderness! They even have a friendly puppy to keep you company while you watch the video!
-Melanie Mahonen

Jason was very helpful and knowledgeable and rented us quality gear! Thanks to him and his friendly crew for getting us on and off the water and helping us have a great trip!
-Scott Coryell

We want to give a HUGE shout out to Ely Outfitting Company, Jason (who was very friendly, easy to reach, and accommodating in planning our trip via phone and email)and especially our guide, Eliza. We brought some of our own backpacking equipment and borrowed some of theirs. So flexible.

We had orientation the day before and then stayed in the bunkhouse—convenient and clean—right next to the outfitters—so our early morning departure was super easy.

We paddled 55 miles over 9 days along the US/Canadian border trail, with our 2 families consisting of (4) 10-13 year old daughters, who portaged canoes and carried heavy packs in between lakes.

Eliza empowered our girls (and the grown ups) to set high expectations for ourselves in crazy positive and motivating ways. She didn’t allow any fishermen to “mess with her girls” on portages because “they are just fine and can do it themselves.” And they were just fine. She took them fishing and taught them how to fillet pike and walleye in different ways. She cooked delicious legit food for us over the campfire, taught us new backpacking and survival skill tips, and swapped traveling stories and laughs while sitting under the tarp in the wind and the rain.

I’m not sure there are many places where you can look out from your campsite and not see/hear another human soul...maybe just a few silent paddlers at least a mile away. All you hear are haunting loon calls, see eagles diving for their dinner, taste the wild blueberries and raspberries, and feel peace...with a few thunderstorms, waterfalls, beaver dam portages and ponds, moose (unsuccessful—but still exciting) patrols, beaver stalkings, possible wolf conversations, mosquito cacophonies at bug-thirty and giggles mixed in here and there :).

By far our most adventurous, off-the-grid trip. We are indebted to Eliza, Jason, and Ely Outfitters for this restorative experience!! . Thank you!
-Megan Hunter Miler

Great experience working with Jason! Very helpful and friendly. He took the time to go over route and gave us helpful pointers along the way. Thanks for setting us up for a fun weekend in the boundary waters.
-Molly Howells

Friendly service, outstanding gear, spot on local knowledge and great recommendations. We will definitely be back to see Jason and staff!
-Stacey Lemke Heger

We have outfitted with Ely Outfitting for two years and look forward to many more in the future. We took advantage of the bunkhouse this year and are hoping to continue to use it ahead of our trips in the future. They handled our rowdy group well and Jason shared great insight on things to see and campsites that would suit our group well.
-Stacey Bannach

If you want to plan a trip to Boundary Waters, I highly recommend you work with Jason and his crew! Highly professional, extremely personable, passionate about what they do, and so very knowledgeable about all things Boundary Waters! Thank you guys for making this trip the most amazing experience!
-Jenn Russell

Second year outfitting through these guys and certain it won't be the last. Super organized, friendly, helpful. The equipment provided was in excellent condition. Thank you to all the staff for the wonderful experience.
-Scott Winn

Second year outfitting through these guys and certain it won't be the last. Super organized, friendly, helpful. The equipment provided was in excellent condition. Thank you to all the staff for the wonderful experience.
-Crisler Torrence

Second year outfitting through these guys and certain it won't be the last. Super organized, friendly, helpful. The equipment provided was in excellent condition. Thank you to all the staff for the wonderful experience.
-John Willard

The three of us just returned home from a 3-day trip completely outfitted by Ely Outfitting and Boundary Waters Guide Service. Sam was our guide and he was terrific. Patient, attentive, fun to be with. As was the entire staff. Even the preliminary phone calls to Ely Outfitting let us know they were completely into what they do. Sending us route options, menu options, asking if we were getting pumped for the trip. Even with a partly windy day and a rainstorm, it will go down as one of the most memorable experiences we've had. We are complete beginners - this was our first time attempting something like this - and we never felt intimidated or frustrated. Definitely challenged. Sam taught us a lot about getting the most out of being in the wilderness. (And how to steer a canoe.) Can't say enough about what an amazing experience it was. Thanks to everyone there. A therapeutic, educational, challenging, beautiful trip.
-Steven Michels-Boyce

All I needed for my trip was a canoe, far from a big money maker for them, but I felt like they gave me the same amount of care and attention as the large group they were attending at the same time. Big group or small trip, these guys will treat you right!
-Seth Alois Cordell

An absolutely tremendous guide service! My wife and I did a week-long self-guided trip, and this was the best possible way to go. Jason was extremely helpful, assisting us with everything from personalized help with route planning to providing us with step-by-step walk-throughs of great campsites, fishing spots, and items of interest. They even helped us re-routing when the weather got nasty (WIND! Fortunately we actually had cell reception). A great experience, we will use this company every time we visit!
-Nick Kalt

Having just moved from living in Costa Rica for 22 years and arriving in MN in mid-April of 2015 my need to get in a canoe and on a good route hit me right away. (I grew up in Ontario and enjoyed many great canoe trips from the age of 12) I was fortunate enough to connect with the crew at Ely Outfitting and Boundary Water Guide service. My two daughters(age 10 and 15) having never been in a canoe in their life experienced a phenomenal trip thanks to the advice and services of Jason and his team. They are great at what they do! Will see you soon for the next trip!
-Scott MacDougall

Very responsive to our questions in the planning phase. Kristen gave is several suggested routes to choose from that fit our needs. Good food and equipment and training on how to use it/prepare it. The bunkhouse was way better that we expected it to be, nicer than a lot of hotel rooms, and cleaner too! Great outfitter!
-Evonne Vaplon

My wife and I went on our first Boundary Waters trip together this past May, and we rented our Canoe from Ely Outing Company. They were amazing!! Jason totally put my wife, who was a little nervous, at ease. They explained what we could expect on our route, and even told us which campsites had the best views. Their shuttle service was prompt, and they helped us load and unload everything. Everyone there seems to love their job, and truly wants to provide you with the best Boundary Waters experience possible. We will for sure go through them every time we go!!
-Clint Winchester Considine

The staff at Ely Outfitting Company did a great job mapping out our trip, setting us up with great gear and pointing us in the right direction on our trip last June. The canoe was great… lightweight, durable and fit three of us. What a treasure Ely MN and the Boundary Waters is to all of us! Next time we would definitely go through Ely Outfitting Company
-Sherri Thompson

Our group of six enjoyed the trip into the boundary waters. Staff is very friendly, Jason did a great job helping us set up our trip and provided transportation to our drop point. Bunk house is clean and was a great way to be ready for the next day launch. 5 star experience all the way!!! WE WILL BE BACK.
-Jerry Zygmunt

I participated in the woman in the boundary waters wilderness canoe trip Sept. 2014. I am very pleased with the service, everything was hassle free ( except some rain) Our guide Kate was truly exceptional host and guide. I enjoyed that she played her fiddle for us everyday. I have many great memories and new friends. Thank you Jason and your staff for everything. I am looking forward to another trip with Ely Outfitting Company.
-Teresa Nyberg Whipps

3rd trip to the BWCA and better than the first two. Maybe it was the fact that I was experiencing this last trip with my son, but some of the credit goes to Ely Outfitting Company providing the perfect route and our gear for the trip. Jason and team made sure that we were well prepared, well rested in their superb bunk house, and arranged tows to and from our starting/end point. Ely Outfitting lived up to their great reviews and I look forward to returning with my grandchildren.
Lisa Sliwa Roessler

Just returned from our 5th trip into the BWCAW with Ely Outfitting providing everything we needed for another awesome experience. Thank you, Jason and your whole crew. As always, it was everything we hoped for and more!
-Rebecca Meyer

My son and I went and for the first time we used a guide and wow what a trip! Jason and his staff were outstanding. We will definitely go again!
-Andrew Zarras

We've used Ely Outfitting for our last two trips to the BW and Jason and his staff provide excellent service. They are great at providing information regarding the conditions of potential routes and haven't steered us wrong in recommending fishing spots.
-Andrew James

Jason and his staff were excellent helping us choose our route and had so much knowledge to share. Already planning our next trip!!
-Chris Griffith

These guys were fantastic. Our gear was top quality, the bunkhouse was clean, cozy and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff....
-Deborah McMahon

We loved Ely Outfitting Company and will definitely be back for another trip! Great equipment, planning, and people. It was a life changing experience. Thank you Jason!
-Rachel Fisher

I just had the experience of a lifetime. The kids at Ely Outfitting did an exceptional job of getting us equipped for our week on the lakes.
-Wendell William Eck

Team was great. Made sure we were prepared. Definitely using again for our next trip.
-Chris Martineau

You guys are first class all the way. Thanks a ton for your help.
-Greg Tetzel

Great people who know their stuff and take care of their clients through all types of challenges.
-Jd Harrison

Great guides and equipment, cant be back there soon enough! Thanks guys!
-Cj Donovan

Just completed our first BWCAW trip...what a memorable experience. A sincere thanks to Jason and his crew for helping us plan and outfit our adventure. Memories to last a lifetime.
-Mike Greiner

Really good service and fantastic guide!
-Jana Hollands

They were so friendly and very helpful. We will be back
-Irv Lupee

We LOVE Jason and Ely Outfitting Company. We come into town from New York City - everything is packed and ready to go, which is such a relief. Our guides have always been fantastic, safe, knowledgeable and fun. Though a special shout out to our guide Bob -- if you get him, you've won Boundary Waters lotto.
-Glen P

Best experience possible. Will be a repeat customer.
We had the best possible experience booking a guided trip through Ely Outfitting Company this summer. We will be repeat customers whenever our travels take us back to the BWCA in the future.

First, we were a group of 8 (4 adult parents, 4 daughters aged 10,11,13,13) and we booked a 9-day guided trip. Our guide Eliza was fantastic: Knowledgeable, encouraging, friendly, professional and tireless. Jason and the team at the shop were very easy to work with in setting up our trip. I have zero suggestions to improve the experience. It was a much better trip than we’d even dared to hope for. They have the entire experience down to a well-oiled machine.

On-trail, our daughters gained confidence and felt empowered to do more than they ever realized they could. We adults all felt like we were in good hands and therefore more willing (and excited) to go further into the BWCA than we would have on our own. Our guide Eliza gets the credit for that, and if you have a chance to join her on a trip, our entire group agrees you should. She was perfect with our daughters and the adults, and she was the real key to our fantastic adventure, ensuring we had options, plans, meals, and everything else we needed (including where to fish). Guiding is clearly hard work, and she handled it with aplomb.

Finally, the BWCA itself is a treasure worth protecting, experiencing and evangelizing. We have travelled coast to coast and it ranks up there with anywhere else we have ever been. I hope to be back, that’s for sure. There’s so much more to see!

If you’re considering a trip, go for it. You’ll be glad you did.
-Suydam

I took part in Ely Outfitting Company's Women in the Wilderness Boundary Waters Canoe Trip in September 2016, led by Kate Ford, and it was one of the most memorable experiences of my life. The Boundary Waters Canoe Area is a national treasure, but it can be a challenge to navigate if you're not an experienced paddler/hiker/camper. Kate not only made the long weekend an adventure to remember, but she helped people in our group--many of whom had never canoed before--discover abilities (like steering and portaging canoes) they'd never known they had. I would recommend this trip, the company, and our guide to anyone wanting to experience the Boundary Waters for themselves, especially anyone who doesn't feel they have the necessary skills to go. You might just surprise yourself!
-Sarah Brandel

Awesome
Visiting BWCA was a lifelong dream come true. We spent 5 days in God's country in late August and early September. We had a wonderful guide, ShaWn. He was an excellent cook and companion.
-Cheryl S

Incredible boundary water experience
This was my first trip to the boundary waters and I can say it exceeded my expectations. Had my 2 adult sons and future son in law with me and our guide Jerritt. First, as we were only going to be on the water 3 days and camping for 2, I had preselected a trip route that was not very ambitious. Fortunately Jerritt discussed options with us before we left and we agreed on a longer route to Knife Lake that was perfect. We had taken a tow across Moose Lake so it was manageable. We saw a lot more than we would have and caught enough fish for it to be a fishing trip. Can't say enough good things about Jerritt and the whole experience. Hope to do it again in the not too distant future.
-Mptkrt

Can't say enough good things
I took a six day canoe trip in the BWCA starting in late August 2015. I was part of a group of six men (ages 65-75) and one brave woman. Ely Outfitting Company and Boundary Waters Guide Service are basically one company. Ely Outfitting did it all. They supplied us with all the equipment (canoes, tents, sleeping bags, etc.), food and a guide. They planned an age appropriate loop route (35 miles on the water and 2.5 miles of portaging) and shuttled us to and from the BWCA. They have a bunk house next to the store, which we used both the night before the trip (when it seemed spartan, but adequate) and the night afterwards (when it seemed luxurious). We flew in and out of Duluth. Pre-trip, the written materials were informative, and the staff was responsive and helpful with questions, both by email and phone.

Our guide, Mark, was excellent. He didn't paddle or portage our canoes, but he took care of practically everything else. The weather and bugs even cooperated. In short, I can't say enough good things.
-Derby Duo

Jason and his crew are great. They were efficient, well organized and super friendly. He outfitted us very well, and set us up with an amazing guide, Steve, who helped us navigate the waters, portages and cooked great food - including a fish dinner that he helped us catch. We went with our 12 year old son and 15 year old daughter, who had never been back country camping, and (except for a few complaints about the mosquitos and biting flies) had a fabulous time. A word of advice: FOLLOW THE PACKING LIST. Jason includes a checklist of what to bring and we had EXACTLY what we needed for the trip. If you want peace and solitude with your family to bond, this is the trip.
-Irene S

Emails and Thank You Notes:

I want to thank you and your team for the absolutely wonderful time I had on your women's guided trip in September. Every detail from the communication before the trip to the shower after was well done! Also, want to mention that our guide was fantastic! That woman is a workhorse and such a fun person! I'm already looking forward to "next time"! Thanks again!
-Jamie Reinke

The [Women in Wilderness] group was really a lot of fun and I loved it... I plan on another trip as soon as I can work it into my schedule. You guys are first rate, good equipment and [our guide] Kate had all the skills to lead.
-Rosie Schler

Because of you, we've been to the world's best peaceful and beautiful place. We'll be back soon.
-Hee Yun Seol

We had the pleasure of using your full package for a group of three from Farm Lake to Lake One last week. Everyone in your organization was helpful and knowledgeable.  The equipment worked great and I could tell the processes you’ve put in place made sure everyone had the equipment they needed with no surprises.
-Dave Jorgenson

 

Ready to plan that awesome Boundary Waters canoe trip? Contact Ely Outfitting Company!